Mental Masturbation part 2

God calls us to be holy in Him because He is holy and He is perfecting us in Him. “We know that when He appears, we will be like Him, because we will see Him just as He is. And everyone who has this hope fixed on Him purifies himself, just as He is pure,” (1 John 3:3).

How can we be a city on a hill and the light to the world (Matthew 5:14) when we constantly indulge our flesh acting just like the world we’re called serve. One of the greatest hang-ups non-Christians have with the Church is that we’re hypocrites we focus our minds on Christ in worship on Sunday only to use that very same mind to please ourselves as we lie in bed at night.

Mental fantasies will also defile our marriage. When I consider that Lord willing, I’ll be married one day I shutter at the thought of taking this sin into my marriage bed. What happens when I’m not ‘feeling it’ one day with my husband will I just allow my mind to substitute him for my favorite actor. I want my marriage to be above reproach, a ministry that is a sweet aroma to the Lord. As much as we get on men for cheating women are just as guilty of infidelity and it often starts on a mental and emotional level.

We have to be honest about mental fantasizing and call it what it is a sin against God. I constantly have to repent and take captive any sinful thoughts (2 Corinthians 10:5) to keep my mind pure and focused on God.

We must remember that in Him we have the victory, Christ has all power over Heaven and Earth, at His name every knee will bow and tongue confess that He is Lord and Savior (Romans 14:11). We can take heart because He has overcome the world (John 16:33) and greater is He that is within us than he that is in the world (1 John 4:4).

Sexual sin is powerful especially because it is so enticing to our easily ensnared flesh. But we must take heart that if we repent and turn from our sin that God will restore us and that He will take our hearts of stone and turn them into hearts of flesh that only desire to please Him and do His will (Ezekiel 36:25-27).

Leave a Reply

