Don’t Let Me Get Me part 1

“Don’t let me get me, I’m my own worst enemy I’m a hazard to myself.”  Pink’s song “Don’t Let Me Get Me” perfectly describes the internal struggle we all go through when the obstacle hindering us from progressing forward is, in fact, ourselves. It’s so much easier to blame someone or something else, I would’ve completed that midterm on time if my roommate didn’t have her boyfriend over, I wouldn’t have made that mistake at work if my boss explained things better or I wouldn’t have snapped at my husband if he’d done the dishes last night like I asked.

It’s much harder to be honest with ourselves and admit I tend to procrastinate and didn’t do the midterm until the night before, I don’t listen well and missed key instructions for the assignment, I have a temper and the dishes being dirty was the last straw. Being your own worst enemy is extremely frustrating and disheartening because we often get in our own way. For example I met this amazing woman at a Networking panel but didn’t email her until two weeks later because I worried that she wouldn’t respond and procrastinated, I made the same mistake at work for the umpteempth time and snapped at my sister minutes after leaving church. I wondered what good am I to the kingdom if I can’t manage my emotions and control my flesh long enough to do what God calls me to do. Paul went through this same internal struggle, “I have discovered this principle in life that when I want to do what is right, I inevitably do what is wrong. I love God’s law with all my heart. But there is another power within me that is at war with my mind” (Romans 7:21-23 NLV).

Paul passionately expresses the internal conflict between the flesh and the Holy Spirit that every Christian struggles with. One of the reason’s why Satan’s lies hurt so much is because they have a kernel of twisted truth within them. Sometimes we are lazy, selfish, emotionally-led, cruel etc. we listen to the Accuser when he whispers that we aren’t worthy of knowing Christ’s love, can’t do anything right and should just give up. Praise God that we have His Word which is our “belt of truth” (Ephesians 6: 14 NIV) to guard against the enemy’s attacks. Paul may have felt conflicted but he begins Romans 8 with this exaltation “therefore, there is now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus, because through Christ Jesus the law of the Spirit who gives life has set you free from the law of sin and death” (Romans 8:1-2).

Before the Throne of God Above by Selah

Leave a Reply

