Encourage Yourself part 2

It’s amazing how God works because I literally had to implement all these steps two weeks ago at work. We had two top executives in our department visiting our office for individual meetings and a team dinner to get to know us better.  When we had our introductions they pointed out the fantastic work of everyone else ‘oh I’ve heard great things about your work on this project’ ‘you are doing great client work’ and when they came to me ‘oh hi its nice to meet you.’

I immediately was plagued by insecurity and feelings of inferiority that I wasn’t a standout employee. I went into an empty conference room and just prayed the Word over myself reiterating the promises of God that we are the head and not the tail (Deuteronomy 28:13 paraphrased) and that God for us is more than the whole world against us (Romans 8:31 paraphrased). The hardest part of going into that dinner was ignoring my feelings and Jesus told the disciples that they could ask for anything if they had faith and did not doubt. I asked God to diminish me and increase the Holy Spirit allowing me to make a real connection with these executives. I sat next to the top exec, and willed myself to stop sweating lol, as we began talking and lo and behold we had a wonderful conversation. God even blessed me to bring up Sunday’s sermon on being fruitful and the ‘tyranny of urgency’ which she loved leading to a discussion with the entire table on how to live in the now. He exceeded all of my hopes and any sense of inferiority was destroyed. My friend has been looking for a new job for over a year and a half and in the past two days God has sent her two amazing opportunities that she didn’t even have to apply for. He is able to do exceedingly, abundantly above all that we ask or can think (Ephesians 3:20 NKJV).

  1. Speak a Word over yourself. Paul tells us to “stand firm then with the belt of truth around your waist…and with your feet fitted with the readiness that comes from the gospel of peace (Ephesians 6:14, 15 NIV).“ We are to saturate ourselves with and in the Word of God because the Word brings us peace and gives us hope. Our emotions and flesh are so readily influenced by our circumstances but we have to remember “feelings are nothing more than suggested actions” as Tye Tribbet says. The Holy Word of God reinforces His promises and allows us to remain strong in God and step out on faith.
  2. Know the enemy’s arsenal. The devil knows exactly what to whisper in your heart to make you feel discouraged and question if God will fulfill His promises to you. The Bible says he is like a roaring lion seeking whom he shall destroy (1 Peter 5:8 paraphrased). We have to ask the Holy Spirit for a spirit of discernment so we can tell when the devil is lying to us and come against him with the Word. My Achilles heel has always been comparing myself/feeling inferior to others and so I knew the minute those thoughts entered my mind that it was the devil and that I needed to pray over myself and not wallow in self-doubt. Whenever you feel discouraged always know that God will never leave nor forsake you.

Has there ever been a time when you had to encourage yourself?

 

Image

One thought on “Encourage Yourself part 2

Leave a Reply

