Liberation in Christ

People-pleasing that visceral need for others’ approval, for people to like you and be your friend. I have struggled with it my entire life, and I can now say that God is in the process of delivering me. I am starting this blog to help anyone who has ever felt alone, who has ever felt controlled by others’ opinion of them. I want you to know that God loves you and that you don’t have to live your life this way. You can have freedom, you can have joy and you can be liberated from the crushing weight of always trying to make other people happy. People-pleasing is a lot like a hamster running on a wheel, wearing yourself out but getting nowhere. I know that is not how God meant for us to live Jesus came that we might have life and that more abundantly. When you agonize over what someone said to you, when you care more about what others’ think of you than your own opinion of you that is when people-pleasing has a choke-hold on your self-esteem and your life.

I have spent so much of my life as a Christian bound by low self-esteem, shame and people-pleasing.  I titled this blog “Liberation in Christ” because I want to share how Christ is liberating me from those chains and the freedom that comes in knowing His boundless love for us and our worth in Him. At times I felt as though I was too far-gone for God to save me but David said “where can I flee from your presence? If I go up to the heavens, you are there; if I make my bed in the depths, you are there” (Psalm 139:7-8). We are never so low or in so deep that God can’t reach down and save us, He longs for us to know the freedom and joy that comes from a relationship with Him. I pray that this blog would bless and encourage you that God’s love is powerful enough to replace shame with dignity, humiliation with honor and oppression with freedom.

Image

Leave a Reply

